Any person intending to enter into Uganda should do so only for lawful purposes and in accordance with national immigration laws, guidelines and formalities.

Foreign nationals intending to enter Uganda for purposes of employment should comply with requirements for expatriate employment in Uganda.

  1. All visa prone nationalities must obtain Uganda visas to facilitate their entry into the country.
  2. All visa prone nationalities must apply for visas and passes online at our visa portal,
  3. Any person intending to travel to Uganda must apply online and have a travel authorization/visa approval letter before embarking on their travel to Uganda as there are no visas issued on arrival.
  4. You will be required to attach documents depending on the category and reason for travel (You can view the required documents on the web portal).
  5. After your visa is approved, you can schedule an appointment to collect your visa sticker at the Uganda High Commission in Pretoria (Come with your visa approval letter, your passport and copies of documents uploaded online).


Category/description of visa



Single entry ordinary tourist visa

USD 50


Multiple entry visa 6-12 months

USD 100


Multiple entry visa 24 months

USD 150


Multiple entry visa 36 months

USD 200


East African Tourist visa (Three months Multiple Entry within Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda)

USD 100


Transit visa

USD 50

Visa fee exempt countries

Nationals from visa fee exempt countries are required to have an invitation or conference letter, valid passport for at least 6 months, yellow fever vaccination which they will present at the point of entry where the border control officers will allow entry.

A list of countries whose citizens do not require visas to enter Uganda is enumerated below;

  1. Angola
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Bahamas
  4. Barbados
  5. Belize
  6. Botswana
  7. Burundi
  8. Comoros
  9. Cuba
  10. Cyprus
  11. Eritrea
  1. Fiji
  2. Gambia
  3. Ghana
  4. Grenada
  5. Ireland
  6. Jamaica
  7. Kenya
  8. Lesotho
  9. Libya
  10. Madagascar
  11. Malawi
  12. Malaysia
  1. Malta
  2. Mauritius
  3. Rwanda
  4. Seychelles
  5. Sierra Leone
  6. Singapore
  7. Solomon Islands
  8. South Sudan
  1. St. Vincent & the Grenadines
  2. Eswatini
  3. Tanzania
  4. Tonga
  5. Trinidad & Tobago
  6. Vanuatu
  7. Zambia
  8. Zimbabwe